Resort al Centro

10 February 2022 – 8 January 2023

At home in Lugano for over fifty years, the Jeffrey Montgomery Collection it is one of the largest and best-known collections of Japanese art outside Japan. With this project, MUSEC celebrates a passion for collecting and a heritage of great artistic and cultural value. A heritage that brings prestige to Lugano, thus consolidating the Ticino city’s historic ties with Swiss and international private art collecting.

Set up on two floors of the “Spazio mostre” in Villa Malpensata, home of MUSEC, the exhibition JAPAN. ARTS AND LIFE presents to the public one hundred and seventy works from the period between the 12th and 20th centuries – including textiles, furniture, paintings, religious and everyday-objects – carefully selected from the over one thousand objects collected over a lifetime by Jeffrey Montgomery. Renowned worldwide, the Montgomery Collection displays an extraordinary richness and a very singular substance: it is a collection of ‘oriental art’, and at the same time it expressed a “folk culture” reinterpreted in very elevated aesthetic terms by the elegant and refined choices made by the collector who had dedicated his entire life to it.

The experience and sensitivity of the collector are at the heart of the project developed by MUSEC and mark its originality, compared to the way in which his collection has been interpreted until now. As Francesco Paolo Campione, director of MUSEC, writes in his introductory text to the exhibition catalogue, “art collections can only have meaning and deep value if they are linked to an existential dimension and the human experience of those who wanted, planned, and consolidated them around themselves. The collector is indispensable to the collection: not only because he created it, but also because he guarantees its originality, interpreting the spirit of the times”.

More information of the exhibition can be found on the official website of MUSEC

location_on 4 km
directions_car 10 min
directions_bus 28 min
Copyright photo and text: ©FCM/MUSEC, Lugano and ©2022 Jeffrey Montgomery-FCM
Source of information: www.musec.ch

Resort al Centro

10 Februar 2022 – 8 Januar 2023

Die Jeffrey Montgomery Collection, die seit über fünfzig Jahren in Lugano beheimatet ist, ist eine der grössten und bekanntesten Sammlungen japanischer Kunst ausserhalb Japans. Mit diesem Projekt feiert die MUSEC eine Sammelleidenschaft und ein Erbe von grossem künstlerischen und kulturellen Wert. Ein Erbe, das Lugano Ansehen verschafft und so die historischen Beziehungen der Tessiner Stadt mit dem schweizerischen und internationalen privaten Kunstsammeln festigt.

In den beiden Stockwerken des Spazio mostre di Villa Malpensata, dem Sitz des MUSEC, wird die Ausstellung JAPAN. Arts and Life präsentiert der Öffentlichkeit einhundertsiebzig Werke aus der Zeit zwischen dem 12. und 20. Jahrhundert – darunter Textilien, Möbel, Gemälde, religiöse und alltägliche Gegenstände -, die sorgfältig aus den mehr als tausend Objekten ausgewählt wurden, die Jeffrey Montgomery im Laufe seines Lebens gesammelt hat. Die in der ganzen Welt bekannte Montgomery-Kollektion weist einen aussergewöhnlichen Reichtum und eine einzigartige Substanz auf: Sie ist „orientalisch“ und gleichzeitig Ausdruck einer „populären“ Kultur, die durch die elegante und raffinierte Auswahl des Sammlers, der ihr sein Leben gewidmet hat, auf sehr hohem ästhetischem Niveau neu interpretiert wird.

Die Erfahrung und die Sensibilität des Sammlers stehen im Mittelpunkt des von MUSEC entwickelten Projekts und machen seine Originalität im Vergleich zu der Art und Weise aus, wie seine Sammlung bisher interpretiert wurde. Wie Francesco Paolo Campione, Direktor des MUSEC, in seinem Einführungstext zum Ausstellungskatalog schreibt: „Alle Kunstsammlungen haben nur dann einen tiefen Sinn und Wert, wenn sie mit der existentiellen Dimension und der menschlichen Erfahrung desjenigen verbunden sind, der sie um sich herum gewollt, geplant und realisiert hat. Der Sammler ist für die Sammlung unentbehrlich: nicht nur, weil er sie geschaffen hat, sondern weil er ihre Originalität gewährleistet und den Zeitgeist interpretiert“.

Weitere Informationen über die Ausstellung finden Sie auf der offiziellen Website von MUSEC

location_on 4 Km
directions_car 10 min
directions_bus 28 min
Copyright Foto und Text: ©FCM/MUSEC, Lugano und ©2022 Jeffrey Montgomery-FCM
Informationsquelle: www.musec.ch